cupcake/coffee conundrum

At work one afternoon, I started dreaming about cupcakes. I wanted cupcakes so bad. I was debating in my head whether or not I should run to the store and get some. And I was thinking to myself, like, “Dude, you should do it, and I bet they’re on sale ’cause it’s the day after Memorial Day.” I didn’t even tell anyone what I was thinking.

And then I swear to you, a customer walked by and said “Hey. Cupcakes are on sale today. ‘Cause it’s the day after Memorial Day.”

Have you ever had a customer randomly walk into your office and tell you that?

I was totally convinced. “I am going to have cupcakes & coffee!!!” I told everyone in the office. I was so excited. I was so so so so excited. I was as excited as Rebecca Black is about Friday.

I ran to the grocery store next door, bought my cupcakes, and started brewing a pot of coffee in the break room.

Right as my coffee was ready, I noticed one million ants invading the coffee machine. Maybe two million. THREE MILLION ANTS, coming from beneath the coffee maker.

I had no idea where all those ants came from. They weren’t there on Friday. They must have come in over the three-day Memorial weekend. I imagined in my head a little ant updating his Facebook status like this:

‘Cause ants use Facebook, right?

My spirit was crushed, demolished, flattened, DESTROYED, because I was really looking forward to my snack. I had even bragged about it to my c0-workers. If I didn’t have cupcakes & coffee now, then I would be a LIAR! I briefly considered drinking the ant-infested coffee in order to maintain my integrity, but ultimately decided against it.

And then – just then – as my world was crashing down – as things were hopeless – while I was an unintentional liar who would be forced to enjoy discount cupcakes without any coffee – just then – at that very moment –

Husband walked in the front door of the office; unannounced, unexpected, and as a hero, BRINGING ME A LATTE!

I exploded with happiness and enjoyed my lovely afternoon snack. This all happened within a literal 10-minute span, one event right after the other. And it goes to prove that the entire world really, truly, actually does revolve around me and my stomach’s happiness.

This entry was posted in food, Husband, starbucks, workplace and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to cupcake/coffee conundrum

  1. Pingback: sushi (or, “my stomach’s happiness, part 2″) |

Leave a Reply

